It has come to my attention that a lot of users are visiting this site looking for info on how to permanently delete files on an HP/H3C router or switch.
This is a very easy task, though it may not be as obvious as it seems.
The delete file command moves a file to the recycle bin. To restore the file, use the undelete command. If you delete two files with the same file name in different directories, only the last one is retained in the recycle bin.
The dir /all command displays the files moved to the recycle bin. These files are enclosed in pairs of square brackets [ ]. To permanently delete these files, use the reset recycle-bin command.
To permanently delete a file and (finally) free some space for that dreaded firmware upgrade, use the delete /unreserved file command. Of course, it goes without saying that the deleted file cannot be restored.